First Fictions First Graphic Novel Competition

page from The Enlightenment of Iwan James

Myriad and First Fictions have posted some pages from the shortlisted entries for the First Graphic Novel Competition. Eeek! the competition is frightfully tough with some great artwork on those pages- I feel very privileged to be there and very happy that I made the shortlist. The seven shortlisted entries present a very broad range in styles, with some superbly skilful perspective drawings in there. Gareth Brookes (whose work I admire) looks like his drawing of pylons is embroidered!

I’m going down to Brighton for the announcement of the winner. I very much doubt it will be me, but I’d like to hear what the judges have to say about the selection process.

The page with the artwork is here.

all the best

Thom

Leave a Reply

